Mathias Eick Group

Mathias Eick Group - opening act on Maijazz 2018

Mathias Eick group has the honour of opening the 30th Maijazz. Almost at the same time – in April 2018 – the group releases a new album on one of the world’s most influential record labels, the German ECM.

Despite only 37 years, he has an impressive number of achievements behind him. In 2007 Mathias won the award for “International Jazz Talent” by the International Jazz Festivals Organization in New York. He has also released 3 solo albums on ECM. Some of his musical collaborators have been Trondheim Jazz Orchestra and Chick Corea, Pat Matheny, Gjermund Larsen, and Manu Katche.  Mathias Eick uses mostly his own compositions, and is a continuation of the distinctive Scandinavian jazz tradition, but also influenced  by American melancholy and lyric trumpet master Kenny Wheeler. In his group, Mathias Eick expresses something completely different – it sounds overwhelmed, Scandinavian, but also innovative and dangerous.

Mathias Eick: Trumpet, Andreas Ulvo: Piano, Audun Erlien: Bass, Håkon Aase: Violin; Thorstein Lofthouse: drums

Stavangeren 04.May at 19:00

Tickets 400,- / 350,- SJF member / 370,- Bate member / Students 300,-


Buy Tickets


andre artister